St George and St Thomas Open Night
On Culture Night, visitors are invited to drop by and experience this unique Church of Ireland, which stands at the gateway to Dublin’s North-East Inner City.
The foundation stone of the original St Thomas's church, which was adjacent to this site was laid in the year 1758. This church suffered collateral damage in 1922 during the Civil War which resulted in its total destruction, and the present church is built on the site of the original parochial hall (1885-86) which remained after the ruin of the church had been demolished. In 1930, the Lord Archbishop of Dublin John Alan Fitzgerald Gregg laid the foundation stone of the present church. As part of its reconstruction, Cathal Brugha Street was created, linking Sean McDermott Street with O’Connell Street and creating Findlater Place.